CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A new way of seeing

I still felt quite tired this morning and after driving up the valley again came back into town and met up with John to discuss council business.

I later heard I sadly didn't get the job I had been interviewed for a few days ago. I am disappointed but either way life was going to change and I will go with the flow.

Then I went to see Dave, who kindly offered to lend me a lens to try out. My basic lens died last week and isn't worth repairing. I haven't now got a lens smaller than 50mm, so Dave's Sigma 17-40mm will be a fine short-term substitute.

I have used it here, when I took my cup of tea out to the cabin to sit quietly and use the camera. This view looks directly southwards, across the Golden Valley to Bownham woods by Rodborough Common. When I sometimes show views of Butterow, it is further to the right of the of the picture. I read in this local paper, Stroud Life, that the cows are to be released to spend the summer months roaming all over Minchinhampton and Rodborough Commons. Local people exercise their ancient commoners' right to graze their cattle on the land which the National Trust are responsible for.

I looked out through the middle window, across our closest valley, to the former ridge and furrow meadow, and saw that the local farmer had released their cattle today. They practice the traditional wood pasture management with the cattle grazing in the unfenced woods and on hillside meadows. They farm the lower Horns valley, which our garden backs onto, and the animals come right to the end of the garden. Before we moved here apparently they had been known to come into the gardens too, despite the very steep slopes. HERE is an early blip of mine showing one of those beasts, as well as the gorgeous autumn light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.