Doing Things Differently

By PhilWWalton

To The Woods!!

Spent all morning in the woods, trying to find Lesser Spotted Woodpecker and Pied Flycatcher. Again. #Fail. Again.

But it didn't really matter. The overnight rain had done its magic. The sunlight through the trees dappled the ground cover and caught the edges of small insects, such as this one.

Then to the hide for lunch and early afternoon. Whilst Messrs Robertshaw and Leighton bantered they also managed to spot a Hobby and a Whimbrel. Year and Swilly Ticks for me, taking me to 145 and 113 respectively.

I am very happy with a patch tally of 113 to date, even though it leaves me way behind the patch leaders, who are already over 150!! Still, I should be able to make up some of the deficit later in the year, when the winter birds I missed reappear.

And even if I don't, it really doesn't matter.

Added Later : If you want to see what Audrey II from yesterdays Blip turned into, please visit HERE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.