Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

The Scottish Parliament

In 1998, Enric Miralles and his wife Benedetta Tagliabue, with the Edinburgh-based RMJM, were chosen to design the new building for the Scottish Parliament on the site opposite Holyrood Palace. The design is overtly modern, complex and controversial; still regarded with mixed feelings by some Scots. My own view is that it is a truly wonderful building, with spectacular interiors, particularly the debating chamber. I think that most people find the interior easier to love than the exterior, but the way the exterior reveals so many facets from so many different angles makes it a building you could never tire of.

The MSPs that I have spoken to all think it a great place to work. The interface between the public areas (you can go there for a coffee or lunch) and the private areas is cleverly arranged and one still feels a proper sense of occasion on being signed in to meet a Member.

I finally bought a compact camera today and this is one of the first pictures from it. On my way home this evening from tea with one of my daughters I drove past Holyrood and the subject for a picture was suddenly right in front of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.