The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Unconventional aviator

My copy of Dunge Bottom arrived this morning. I've only read a bit but I know I'm going to enjoy it. It's by John Clarke, the chap who taught me to fly all those many years ago.
I urge anyone who enjoys a good chuckle to buy a copy because - whether you know hang gliding or not - you'll like this book.

The foreword starts thus:

The word 'Extreme' is a bit overused these days. We have extreme drinks, extreme holidays and , of course, extreme sports. All around us there is a plethora of advertising encouraging us to live life to the max, go for it and other tiresome epithets. As an older, although by no means old, member of the population this irritates me immensely, not because I wish I were living an extreme life, but because I did and frankly people these days would not know extreme if it slapped them in the face; which it couldn't because that sort of thing isn't allowed now either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.