Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Revisiting The Cholla

Yesterday, I explained that the cholla (choy-a) cactus was related to the prickley pear cactus. Seems odd. They don't look much alike at all.

In this photo there are two varieties of cholla. In the foreground, is the Branched Pencil Cholla. Behind that, to the best of my knowledge, is a Teddy Bear Cholla.
The second one looks a little fuzzier than yesterday's (Buckhorn), that's why I suspect it's a different variety than the one I posted then.

The Pencil Cholla has yellow flower buds on it. I will try to time my visits to the desert to see it bloom. I've never seen a cholla in full bloom. I plan to spend a lot more time out there, just walking on the paths. If something catches my eye, all the better.

Happy Friday from the desert southwest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.