meanderbestofem

By Meandertall

visit from a fantail

Chances are any of the NZ photogs here with any more than a passing interest in nature photography will have had a go at getting these guys on sensor (doesn't sound the same as getting it on film??) And chances are most of them will agree how blimmiin difficult they are. They're built to catch insects on the wing, and they do it well. That tail is designed to turn them on a sixpence. Continuous high speed changes in direction, if anyone has a camera lens combination that can focus on a flying fantail , I'm interested to know.

I have worked on these guys for a couple of years now. Plenty of quite nice portraits. I want them in flight. Today this little fella came in to our house. And yes I am aware of the mythology associated with that, they've been coming in all season and I heard from a friend that inside sightings of fantail have been reported widely this year.

Anyway, to this story, usually he(or she) is in and out again in a minute, several times I've got the 105 2.8 on only to see him out the door. Unlike a sparrow or a blackbird , the piwakawaka always seems to know how to get out when he wants. And I would never shut him in, if it's time to get the image he will stay of his own accord. Today he did. The light was dull, to freeze the movement I reckon you would need to be working with 1/1000th of a second, no chance here so direct flash. I have some really interesting movement shots and some in full flight but I like this one, how it shows the way the piwakawaka uses that magnificent tail and wings. It seems to show the character a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.