Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Inverness - Eastgate

Woke up today, in the caravan, to the sound of pissing rain. I knew I had to get up but I couldn't brig myself to get out of bed. Unfortunately, there are no facilities in the caravan as of yet, so, when you wake up, dying for the toilet you are faced with two options. You can get up, pull on last night's jeans and run towards the house. Or, turn over and hope that an embarrassing, infantile disaster does not befall you. Lying there with the knowledge that going back to sleep would mean waking up needing the toilet even more, however, was enough to get me up. Besides, I had a phone to buy.

I have been phone-less for almost a month now. I have mixed feeling about this experience. One the one hand, it was nice reverting back to the good old days in that I wasn't constantly relying on my phone to navigate everyday life. I even had to start taking numbers down in my notebook and carrying spare change in case I need to use a telephone box. Other times, though, I felt like I'd rather have it on me. Like the other day, when I was climbing down a cliff to the beach. I was about 2 miles form the nearest house and walking down a tiny path that snaked its way down a sheer drop. If I fell, and survived I would have no way of letting anyone know. Unless my leg came off, then, maybe, I could scrape HELP into the sand with the sharp, exposed bone. Apart from that though, I didn't mind going back to the old way over all.

One thing I didn't like though is losing the internet, which is why this is a back-blip. That drives me mental.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.