Frontier

By Frontier

Let it Go

I'm still thinking about Black Swan. I also realised, the reason why I had a reservation about the film, or more appropriately, was tense about the film, were the eventual arguments I would have with overzealous film "critics". Why? Well, the film was fantastic, multi-layered, etc. but there are countless critics who will focus on one theme of the film and harbour it until death. Perhaps you could mistake it for obsessive compulsiveness or some other unique psychological term, but what really gets my goat is the supreme arrogance and use of English when a writer gives their "analysis". Analysis in this case is a scene by scene account of re-telling the story with frequent use of the thesaurus in the hopes of mystifying / confusing the reader. It's incredibly annoying.

I hate to name names, but it's the kind of thing to get your blood boiling. Although the critic has some great points, it's the snobbish-ness of the expression that is incredibly pitiful. I dunno, it's just.... GARGH! It wasn't the typical review that you'd find in a newspaper, but it was a blog by a University Professor.

It reminds me of how useless tertiary education can be in some cases. Reading essay after essay of sanctimonious trash that only serves the purpose of self-aggrandisement. Seriously, there is very little beauty in many sociological, gender-studies and cinema texts, and the like. Of course, there are the shining stars that truly motivate the divinity of creation, but then there's the rest. I would really love to put up the review on here, but it would be a useless and stupid exercise. Look at it for yourself and make up your own mind, but it annoyed me a lot. The hard part is convincing the person that there are perhaps MORE viewpoints to learn outside their own school of thought. I feel that some people abuse the priviledge of language and forget the effect of what they say. The critique goes on for a long long time and actually has nothing to say. An exercise of didacticism (I used a thesaurus for that one).

I know that what I'm saying puts me at the risk of being shot by my own gun, but my main point was that I am hesistant to talk about the film to some people as it will bring up a monsterous passion / perspective that insists on ruining others instead of discussion. I have been victim and perpetrator to this many times and I do apologies profusely to my friends.

The film is great, I'm sticking to it. Heck, it's got many people talking which by any account is a sign of great art (or bad).

The blog is on Blogger, the writer is from a university in New Jersey, USA. :P Sorry, I've just gotta let it out and waste my energy writing about this.

Ultimately I must let it go and enjoy things for how I want to, and so should everyone else. There is always beauty amongst the concrete.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.