Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Final resting place of the Wortley Montagu's

I've just lost my first attempt at typing this journal - this attempt might be shorter - phew I can hear you say!)

The Wortley Montagu's certainly bagged themselves a spectacular plot when they chose this corner of the graveyard, giving themselves views along the Don valley as far as Langsett and down the hill towards Wortley Top Ford. I think I'd prefer to own this view while I'm still living and if ever one of these cottages came up for sale I think I'd be first in the queue.

This was my first visit into the graveyard, despite its close proximity to home, and originally I'd only stopped to cancel the paper while we are on holiday.

The most famour member of the family is Lady Mary Montagu Wortley who brought the first smallpox innoculations back to the UK from Turkey.

Yesterdays birthday blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.