The way I see it.

By christinePears

Yachts in Scrabster Harbour

It must be summer time - there are now yachts tied up in the harbour. Don't know if they are local ones that have just been put in the water or ones that have braved the Pentland Firth to get here but there is that distinctive "clang, clang, clang!" noise of their wires bits hitting the masts!

It looks warmer in the picture than it really was. While I was out in the school garden with a small group of pupils, half of them had to shelter from the cold in the greenhouse while the other half planted potatoes and then we swapped over. Our turnips that we planted last week are through and lettuce was planted today using seed strips. That was first for me. The seeds are stuck to a long strip of tissue-like paper and all you do is lay it on the prepared soil, cover lightly and water in. Hope it works.

The daylight is lengthening rapidly and one down side is that I want to go to bed late, wake up early and work hard in the garden - leaving me tired at a time of year when I should be bouncing about with energy. Resolution to self: get to bed at a decent time tonight. Grandson son number 1 (the three year old) is coming for the weekend so I need to top up my energy tanks!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.