The way I see it.

By christinePears

Blue Tibetan poppy

I got a wonderful surprise today when I took a walk round my garden and discovered that my Blue Tibetan poppy had popped! Now this really, really is one of my all time favourite flowers. The gorgeous blue is unusual for a poppy. It is quite temperamental in it's habits and needs moisture but also good drainage and seems to be happy on my slope which also gets plenty rainfall. It is also short-lived but given the right conditions will seed itself about freely. This plant seemed to cope ok with the bitter cold (-15 degrees C) we had in Caithness this winter. A friend has given me 6 seedlings so if I grow them on carefully I should have some plants in reserve if this one dies after flowering.

Still a bit wintery up here with a cold wind blowing. Sutherland (my 3 year old grandson) arrived today so it's action stations all weekend! Better go - he wants to go and dig for worms in the garden!

Hope you all have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.