Jeff Greene's Daily Photo

By JeffGreene

Constitution Gardens IR

This shot made my whole trip.

All the elements came together for a great scene, some perfect light, and an approaching storm darkening the skies perfectly. This was a wonderful image in color and B&W, but luckily I had brought along my R72 Infrared filter which took the scene to a whole new level.

Although, I can "read a sky" quite well and knew a massive thunder shower was imminent, I couldn't tear my self away from capturing as many different compositions as possible. The light was continuously changing and I needed to wait for the ideal combination of sunlight on the trees AND the Washington Monument. My patience was rewarded, but ten minutes later I was soaked to the skin and running for cover in the Lincoln Memorial.

Dripping clothes notwithstanding, this was worth every drop...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.