Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Ist Car accident in Germany

In the morning had taken some nice shots of my dog, Flash, swimming in the local river & then some of one of the "religious" buildings in the village and knew I had a blip secure for today. Then went to Memmingen & a DIY store. As I was driving out but still on the DIY parking lot, someone in a hurry ignored the German rule "right has priority over left" & shot by in front of me. I just clipped his rear end. No real damage to mine except the number plate torn off. The apparent scratches on the bumper when rubbed away are practically not visible. The "opponent" was somewhat worse off.

Anyway, no one hurt. It's my first accident in 21 years of driving in Germany and probably nearly 30 years since my last one (in the UK).
Normally I am in the right but knowing insurance companies they will probably agree amongst themselves that each party pays it'*s own costs.

Flash's swim & the buildings are now for another day.

PS Writing long after the event, learnt a lot about German law and the workings of insurance companies. After my insurance said it was best to go for 50/50 (and this means exactly that, the sum of all repairs on both cars divided by two) they paid out a huge sum on my behalf. When the opponent then went to court wanting more costs, insurance & I took up the challenge - the judge simply shook his head, said I had no fault at all in the accident and simply laughed when the opponent's lawyer accused me of driving too slowly!)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.