Proposal at Strawberry Fields

Crossing Central Park at 72nd Street this afternoon I stopped to take in the scene at the memorial to John Lennon at Strawberry Fields, opposite where he was murdered in 1980.

A young lady was standing across the circle, and all at once a young man strode across, knelt in front of her and offered her a ring, to the applause of the few onlookers--she seemed ecstatic! Worth viewing large.

I was on my way to the Frick Collection, an superb group of old masters exhibited in Frick's former mansion. There was a special exhibition of drawings and prints by Rembrandt and his followers, ending this weekend; it was wonderful, and wandering around the main galleries I was reminded yet again how special most of the paintings are.

A friend just reminded me that this blip is in effect the second in a "Beatles Wedding Series"--the first being my "Abbey Road Wedding" (though not so titled at the time).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.