John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Robin Red-Breast

This afternoon I hung my exhibition at Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary on Cape Cod (more on this on Saturday--my 100th blip, I trust). After that there wasn't time and I was too tired anyway to go out and try to blip a bird, so my wife and I returned to our hotel in Yarmouth.

Lo and behold if there wasn't an American Robin (Turdus migratorius) perched near our balcony--I probably wasn't the first photographer he'd posed for. He spent a good deal of time preening, and this captures a pause in that process. A popular American name for this bird is "robin red-breast" and that certainly fits here. I have a shot of a European robin on my website.

IF you are even a bit curious about birds, you should look back at my blip of a Wood Pigeon in Paris almost exactly two months ago--it's a strikingly similar image of quite a different bird!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.