Appreciation

By Appreciation

Fading

I have always considered that I have a relatively well balanced immune system. I think being out and about in the allotment has a lot to do with it. Yet, whilst there today I found myself sneezing a lot. Within 20 minutes I had what I thought must be hayfever, eyes streaming, nose running tickly throat. Rubbish. Was packing up to come home when a little cutsie baby fox hopped and skipped his way along the path. He stopped to watch me but then kept going. Given how young he was he showed no fear of the dominant species. Perhaps, like my immune system, our power is fading.

Later I took my girl to a charity book fair. The reading list for her advanced higher English is huge. There are few books on the list I would wish to read myself. We picked up about 9 books altogether and by the look of the covers only, I could see my girls interest n English was fading too. With so many wonderful books available, do we still need to study the classics, Gustav's Madam Bovery, Tolstoy's Anna Karenina, Simon's The Good Doctor - the latter being unobtainable on the internet completely!

The light was fading after my outing this evening and I took a moment to enjoy the peace in the park. There were no children running around, they were all tucked up cosy in their beds. There were no dogs running at your feet. It was quiet and still, all bar my sniffing and raging head cold. Perhaps there are some things which fade yet can still be enjoyed. We only have to look a bit harder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.