just allan

By allan

Lapwing Lines

A field near East Linton, East Lothian, where lapwing are preparing to breed. I cycled back from North Berwick, taking the train there after work so that I could enjoy the evening ride home.

It's a thrill to see these birds with their distinctive call and their madcap flight (here's a video someone put on youtube) because although I used to see flocks of 50 or so here in East Lothian I've not seen that for many years. I've only been out here for 15 years or so, the decline has happened in that time. Unfortunately they nest on the ground so they need undisturbed fields throughout the summer and that's unlikely on a modern farm. The RSPB describe the many challenges for these birds which even have a specific law to protect them from egg collection.

I got some pretty good detailed shots of the birds but I really like the colours, textures and lines in this one.

My old friend Iain came over and we listened to a load of music, went to the pub, had a walk down by the beach and watched Mark Cavendish winning another stage at the Giro d'Italia. That's 2 for him, well done Mark!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.