The Long and Winding Road

If you had asked me over two-and-a-half years ago if I could post 1000 photos, I would've laughed and rolled my eyes. When I first started down this road, I doubted my ability to reach 100 blips. But as I've passed each milestone, I've surprised myself a little. I'm also surprised by how, over time, the milestones seem to approach more quickly.

I must also admit that as I come to each milestone on this journey, I question why I do this (almost) every day. I wonder if I should stop, take a break, only post occasionally, refrain from posting the lousy photos, etc. But I inevitably keep on going. I don't stop because of what a fellow blipper once said to me, "Just think of the record you will have for your daughter."

I realized the other day that I have been blipping for nearly half my daughter's life. (Sometimes I wish I'd found this place sooner.) And today I saw Joe's blipblog post, where he summed up so perfectly what is "so valuable about keeping a Blip journal. It's a fleeting moment in time, something which without Blip might pass unnoticed and unrecorded." It is true that many of the moments I've recorded here would be long forgotten had I not taken this journey. What I started on a whim 1,008 days ago, has indeed become priceless in so many ways.

Thanks to Joe and the crew at Blip central for creating and sharing this special place where people can take their own journeys as well as share in the joys and challenges of others' journeys.




"Sometimes what keeps you going isn't some final destination but just the road you're on."

~ Barbara Kingsolver





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.