Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Woodpecker

This morning katkatkat and I realised it wasn't a good day for going off down to the lake for a blip. It was dull and raining! Instead we made a pot of tea and considered the options.

I got out the tripod. Katkatkat was puzzled

"You don't have a bird table outside your 3rd floor flat, you don't do many bird table blips!"

"There are no birds!"

"There are, trust me!"

I opened the window and set up the camera. Kat had been fascinated by the remote release and now she would realise it's potential. In my négligé and The Man's wellies (the handiest outdoor footwear to be found) I ventured out with a bowl of bird food. Within a few minutes it had been seen.

We took it in turns to sit with the remote, waiting for visitors. We weren't the only ones interested in this pursuit. The sound of birdsong through the open window sent Ali crazy. She raced around the room then jumped onto the table, barged past the unsuspecting tripod and out onto the window sill. Birds were not seen until we coaxed her back into the house.

Kat and her partner have gone home now. I will leave her to choose which of the birds she blips. I set up the tripod again this afternoon and caught this male woodpecker. I've blipped them several times last year but this is my first for this year. It has only just started coming back to the garden.

Thanks, both of you, for a lovely few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.