Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Not for me

Another visit to Beaumont hospital today, but nothing to do with myself this time. I've blipped this (not very attracive) covered walkway before, at the time of my cardiac rehabilitation, but today I was there for somebody else. My next-door neighbour, who was wonderfully attentive and kind to me during my hospitalisation two years ago, took a fall last Wednesday and broke her hip. I've spoken to her a few times by phone since I got the news, but she hasn't felt up to receiving visitors apart from her family until now. I spoke to her again this morning and arranged to call in this evening, which I did on my way home from today's meeting of the Music Group (longer than usual because it was a Mahler celebration (100th anniversary of his death on the 18th). Mary was in much better form, though anxious to get out of Beaumont and move on to the orthopedic hospital in Clontarf for physiotherapy.

A quick bite to eat when I got home, then over southside to meet up with Carl and some friends through whom we'd been asked to come along to a local social club where an evening of magic was lined up as a fund-raiser. It was a great night (excellent close-quarters tricks from the magician who went round from table to table). Bar prices are much lower than they would be in regular pubs, and they seem not to have heard of closing time, so it was well into the early hours before we left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.