A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

Racing across a stormy sea

The weather here in Skye has been somewhat unseasonal today with storms and heavy squalls of rain. Not an ideal day for taking photographs especially when one does not have a water sealed camera.

However I saw this semi-rigid inflatable boat at the pier and watched to see it leave. As soon as they were clear of the end of the pier they gunned the engine and shot across the loch heading for the Sound of Raasay and God knows where beyond.

It was rough enough to make their departing quite spectacular. I doudt there were many other photographers out but I am glad I was there.

This evening my wife and I went for what turned out to be a spectacular meal at the Skeabost Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will definately return to enjoy a meal there again. I mention this because the drive out follows the river Snizort and it was quite spectacular too. I have never seen so much water spilling down the rapids.

I wished then that I had taken the camera with me. I shall remember next time I am going that way during some heavy prolonged weather to take my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.