Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

More stream bed

So today it was fun. First I painted the bridge supports with a concrete color. Since nothing was ever new on the RGS, I weathered the supports with weathering chalks. Actually a product from Brandon what is a powder available in many colors with some sort of magic adhesive on each little speck. Push it down and it sticks to anything. Wonderful product. My fingers are now a combination of rust and grimy black. As is my shirt.

Then I added some scale rocks to the stream bed. These came from Arizona Stone - a little company that has some sort of huge crusher and sells bags of scale stones in many colors. Perfect for what I wanted - this is "Apache Stone" and matches the Dolores stones dead on. Once the stones were in place - actually several layers with larger, then medium, then small stones - I glued them down. Soaked the area with 70% isopropyl alcohol and then dilute white glue - 50/50 white glue with water and a few drops of detergent to break surface tension. The alcohol sort of makes the way for the glue and it quickly goes everywhere. Next morning - the rocks are there forever.

The rocks will for the most part be under water. That is the next step - pouring water. OK - not real water but a plastic resin deal that pours clear, then hardens into a perfectly clear surface. I do about 1/4" at a time, building up the lake. This scene is actually a drainage ditch that is emptying into a lake so it is sort of a shore. Thus it is sort of shallow.

Today I am going to make a scale trout out of a small piece of wood, and paint it so that my fisherman will have something to catch. HAve to glue the trout before I pour the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.