A Pic is Worth a 1000 Words.

By AgrawalKrish

The Grand: Delhi

Woke up much before the wake-up call I scheduled last night. Here @ The Grand slid the curtains to Glance last Sunrise before I start for US. A 5* breakfast then we all started back towards airport. Stuck in traffic madness for almost 30mins but didn't encounter any issue there at airport. All the American Airlines associates who were there last night were still performing their overtime to make sure flight leaves ontime.

As scheduled boarding started @ 10:45am, Entered the aircraft to see a lady with a small baby sitting in my seat (20F Window seat near Fire Exit, Where more space was left at front). As soon as I stopped she asked, is this your seat? hmm yes. An old lady who was sitting next to her helped me understand that young lady needs little more leg space so that she can travel comfortably with her little baby and if I don't mind I can take her seat 33F. WHY NOT. The old lady too came along with me, I was bit surprised but after reaching 33F it was clear that she also swapped her seat so that Young lady's husband can sit next to her. The guy thanked me at least 5 times for helping him & his wife. IT'S ok man you are making me feel uncomfortable. I didn't do anything great except sitting in a different row than it was allotted to me before. I wished him comfortable journey and he moved to row 20E.

Aunty ji sat next to me and started telling me how people she has known before denied similar help to her couple of times.

We started ontime from Delhi, Once flight took off I took the Ghalib-in-Translation out and started diving into the world of Ghalib's Couplets. Lady sitting next to me, hmmm "GHALIB". She started telling about Urdu poetry and Ghalib, to my surprise she could even read Urdu very well. Later I discovered we've couple of interests very common (Poem, Photography & Music). She told me about few of her friends who are Poet. They even meet very often to discuss on literature.

I got curious to know more about her.

How long you've been here in US ma'm
It's been 43 years.. actually April is already passed so 44 years by now.
WOW..
Yea I'm Delhi IIT pass-out came here for higher education and then got settled here itself.
What do you do ?
I'm retired now because of some health reasons.
She was professor in "University of Michigan" & stays @ Ann Arbor, MI
I told her my mom was suppose to travel with me today but because of my father's health condition none of them could travel.
What's your name ma'm ?
"*SHA"
Oh is it, that's my mom's name too. I feel like I'm traveling with my mom. She said few good lines by one of her friends, I immediately requested her to write it on my book.
---
Ghaat par dhule Kapde,
Dhobi ne sab samet liye hain,
UFF, ek lambi Neeli
Saari, Ab bhi vahin hai !!! - By Kaushik

She also wrote her contact# and asked me to call her sometime.

I talk a lot, so does she. We kept discussing about Poems, people turning selfish these days, Music & later about Photography too.

I showed her best of my photographs, She showed me pics of her grand daughters and in one of the pics her grand daughter was holding her hair which she donated for kids suffering from Cancer. Told her that I'm also growing my hair for same reason, she told me about Locks of Love website to check additional details before I make donation.

With all these interesting talks didn't even realize how 15 hours passed and we landed @ Chicago airport.

It's 16:37 and my next flight to Bentonville was @ 18:30. Though people say if you've less than 3 hours of overlay it's impossible in Chicago to catch the next flight, I had full faith I can beat that time. As soon as came out of aircraft started running towards Immigration desk. Reached there to find out 100s of folks already lined up (another plane landed right before us). By the time I reached at the end of the queue another window opened and I was sent there after 2 more folks who were standing infront of me. Officer didn't even ask a single question and I started running again to collect my check-in bag, found it and rushed to get it scanned before going out of the terminal.

I had to go to domestic terminal in less than 30mins, One of my bags was getting flipped when I was pulling it fast, didn't want to loose anytime so instead of rolling the bags just lifted both of them and started running. Stepped into Escalator and in no time I was moving UP to catch train. DAMN "hurry makes worry": Didn't even check which terminal I need to go ? Upstairs train had not yet arrived so asked one airport staff which terminal I need to go to catch a domestic AA flight, Got answer saying next terminal (# 3). Train arrives and within 5 mins I was there. Just need to re-check-in my bag and after security check I'm all set to board flight ontime.. YOOHOOO.

Still have 22 mins, re-checked-in the bag but queue for security check was way long, suddenly heard an officer saying "Please go all the way down, we've another security gate, no queue there", no one was caring what she's saying.. Though I still don't know which Gate I need to go to board the plane as soon as I heard NO QUEUE ran towards that security gate. I came clean after X-Ray scan but officer found something in my Carry on Bag.
Is this your bag sir ?
Yes.
I want you to open it for further inspection.
I knew where it was going: I'M GOING TO MISS MY FLIGHT. Sure
He took out each item but didn't find anything fishy.
officer: I don't see anything wrong but I'll have to put it back for scanning.
Go ahead, I anyways can't catch my flight now so I'm not in hurry.
Won't they wait for you.
I don't think so.
he re-scanned the bag but still didn't find anything.
Everything looks good, probably it's just that something was at weird angle initially.
You can re-pack your bag and proceed.

Reached one of the American Airlines desk and asked the lady which gate I need to go to board my flight..
-- "H5"
Reached gate H5 to see BOARDING COMPLETE note.
asked the lady over the counter, what are my options now.
She said she can book me to next flight which is @ 20:00
That works for me. meanwhile I can call my friend to come to the airport.

Since I don't carry Mobile phone, Always carry some change during travel to make phone calls. But I'd never used Coin phone before and got confused after reading the instruction to make call.
Dialed my friends mobile number on keypad, as soon as I entered 7th number machine asked me to enter 50Cents, I thought some problem and disconnected, re-dialed but same message, this time I did enter 50 Cents. SORRY the Number you dialed doesn't exist.

Realized it's not right way since it's not Chicago# I need to dial 0 so did that this time after dialing whole 10 digits machine asked to enter 1 Dollar, I did. Same Damn message "SORRY the Number you dialed doesn't exist". Tried the first approach again and lost 50 more Cents... EEEEEE running short of coins now.

Dropped the idea of using Coin Phone and asked one lady if she has mobile phone and I may make a call, she says she doesn't have phone & pointed towards coin phone. I said I tried it thrice but not getting it how to dial an Arkansas number. she suggested me to dial 1 then 10 digit#. COOL deal. Dialed my friends # but it went to voice mail, DAMN>>>> left a VM. Thought of calling another friend to let first one know to check his Voice Mail, He too didn't pick up my call... I was left with only 3-4 Quarters, thought I'm not gonna make any more calls, if I reach Arkansas and no-one shows up then this $1 change will be useful to make 2 local calls there.

Boarded 20:00 flight ontime and reached Bentonville at around 21:45. My friend did check his voice mail, he himself couldn't come to pick me up but he made sure two other friends come to airport to pick me up.

@ 22:30 reached home & no time to blip...

** Left India, Reached USA but still have the Taste of Pandey's PAAN in my Tongue.


Bonus: 7 Expressions...

*It's a Backblip# 04*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.