Plus ça change...

By SooB

Three Colours: Green

I did a really long, amusing, moving write up, and it was lost somewhere in the Lightroom upload. Grrrr. So, some edited highlights instead:

- Meeting at school was fine. They backed off in the face of my copious notes and well-reasoned arguments. (And obviously not just because I pay the bills.) The kids will continue as they are, with a review at the end of June. Katherine's maths had been a problem, but I explained the differences between how they do things here and how she has been taught, and they could see the problem. They even asked to be shown how we do division, and were impressed with the method's elegance and simplicity. I doubt I've changed French education policy, but I may have salvaged the reputation of Scottish education in a small corner of France. So, thank you to all the lovely folk (both blippers and lurkers) who called, emailed and commented with advice and sympathy - you all collectively talked some sense into me and all has turned out well. Our collective brain is a pretty fine one. Well done you/us.

- Mr B has had a grim day: stuck on a hot garage forecourt waiting for the recovery firm to tell him whether they'd pay for him to be towed here, or depressingly back to Scotland. He warned them to call back before noon French time to be ahead of the lunch break... so of course they called at 12.01. Happily, he can be towed here, but not until tomorrow morning.

- The veg is doing grand, here are lettuce, parsley and rosemary showing their true colours. It occurred to me while I was waiting for the previous version to upload that this may be a subconscious reaction to this blip by DrCraig. Who knows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.