Plus ça change...

By SooB

Fallen by the wayside

You might think, from the title, that this is a poppy snapped on a verge somewhere. No, it's right in the middle of my garden, one solitary poppy which had managed to lose a petal and shed its seeds before I even noticed it.

It is actually Mr B who has fallen by the wayside - stranded again by his van. He's south of Limoges and not actually that many hours from home, but with an unfixable van full of stuff, he might as well be on the moon. Tomorrow he will try and convince the breakdown firm to bring him here rather than repatriating the vehicle to Scotland. Sigh.

Today was too hot for all the stuff I was trying to get through. I did manage some entertaining conversations with folk in town, which nicely filled in the gap of time caused by the tourist info place and library both being closed on Mondays. I have made a meeting at the school tomorrow and have my plan all worked out. I had hoped Mr B would be able to be there as a looming presence behind me, confirming simply by his being there our commitment to our childrens' education. I'm hoping to strike a balance between 'gosh thank you so much for caring about how my children do' and 'don't you dare write them off yet'. Best go and look up some more school-related words now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.