Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Malibu

Driving along the Pacific Coast Highway to the do, life feels really rather good today. The sun beats down, almost assaults me as I turn into it setting beyond as U2's Duals blares out on the stereo. They're a band that have been the soundtrack to my life from early listenings in the 80s and, it now seems, this former live music obsessor and music critic - the soul that gave me space to breath - finds the sounds often emanating in the car being songs for signing. And even on rare days when the boys aren't with me, their DVDs will still run in the seats behind me.

Sometimes the 5Dii surprises me really rather beautifully.

It works its butt off much harder than I get it to. Honest, it does all the work for me and 22 years of photography experience seriously not required. The thing is, it's not always apparent from an image you may see here or blogged what camera's been used. That's not the point. It's that a beauty like that makes image taking so much easier, gives you the full frame of the lens you've paid your money for and will often produce gems that require little processing with excellent clarity.

Perhaps these dos requires a certain personality that I am quite clearly not. Scouting for business in a sea of brides being ravished by an ocean of 5Dii and 700s. So I try something a little different and I'm skipping at the results.

I realized perhaps only a short while ago that Blip isn't about what you guys all want out there: it's what I want and today I wanted a shot of me. So whilst I'm oohing at the images I took overlooking the beach on Malibu at the charity bridal shootout just as the sun is setting and the light is dancing on the ocean, of couples, talented makeup and hair artists, cakes and flowers, you get me today.

Because I'm worth it.

Just next time, I'll really try to use the services of the artists to spruce me up a bit, better than the quick fix in the parking lot beforehand. It's fascinating watching them work and the stunning results backlit with Malibu beach and air light.

Beyond that, a good day in the garden and at home with the boys despite the persistent coughs and intermittent fevers all round.

PS I will post some images of the do later.

PPS Wardrobe malfunction. Realised one of my new shirt buttons was undone. Eh, for how long?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.