Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Ballona Wetlands

School today with Callum came unexpectedly after a switch of days. Once again, Me, iMac and Aperture sat in the adjacent room and did some editing together, each of us behaving well and knowing instinctively what the others wanted. Work. I'm utterly behind.

This evening, after an afternoon reading, playing kitchens with Callum whilst Reuben slept and Reuben later delighting me with "Let's make a word", we headed out for a late afternoon play at a great new playground that's just opened up and which abuts the Ballona Wetlands. It's now the closest park to home, being just a few minutes drive (it is LA remember and most places come with a drive). The structures are fantastic including the longest slide ever which sends both boys soaring off the edge and which, I was delighted to see, resulted in Reuben shooting off to a stand. Callum meanwhile was keener on snuggling into me and I didn't mind one little bit, so often it seems now that he wants more independence from me.

I couldn't resist but bring along this gorgeous rocker which I found down a back alley in Santa Monica this winter past. I'm recalling how I attempted to squeeze it into the car back then along with the double stroller, so determined was I to get it home. Callum slept away whilst I shot a few into the sun, noticing how differently the 5Dii handles that being full frame and whilst the jolly other shots of Reuben delighted me, the natural lens flare falling above Reuben and the out of camera composition here, along with his soft and sweet demeanor swung it for me. Reuben is an ever thoughtful being. He observes and studies people and events in silent contemplation, just as he does when I'm photographing him here.

Today would once have been a big day, 14 year anniversary. I could smile this evening whilst watching them play in the fading light, how indeed you cannot have the great positives without the original negative.

Backblipped yesterday in Malibu.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.