Between Brushstrokes

By felicitypapp

underpainting done

People don't like to think. In fact, they do all kind of things to avoid using their brains. What shall I eat, do I wait for the iPhone 5 or buy one now, who is going to win American Idol- those seem to be the intellectual limits for a lot of people these days.

They certainly won't think about a painting on their own volition. Germans especially. I've had people showing up at a vernissage, looking at the artwork on display for less than ten seconds before turning around and asking "What does it mean?" The thing to keep in mind here is that I'm not painting abstracts. It's the add-salt-before-tasting attitude.

That's part of why I decided to go with a different painting for this show. To give them something flashy that will fire up their brains before they can do something about it. Of course that means that my whole time schedule has blown up in my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.