wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Tall

I'm shorter than people imagine. All through my life I've put up with people standing next to me saying 'How are you shorter than me? I always thought you were really tall'. And so I sometimes stand in the afternoon sun just to see that I'm not really short. My shadow reflects the reality - I may appear short(ish) in stature, but I'll step into the light and you'll see just how much room I can take up.

(That was terrible. But I'll leave it, because it was my terrible, and this is my journal. And I'm not really short, perfectly average, it's just that I'm loud and wave my arms a lot, so people assume I must take up lots of space vertically as well as horizontally and aurally.)

Played indoor soccer today, was all rather fun as an end of semester social thingo. We lost abysmally. To the point where the scorekeepers just stopped. But it's about the game not the outcome, or so they say, and the game was most certainly entertaining. The other team certainly had several invisible players on their side, or miniteleporters. Our team, on the other hand, followed the time honoured tactic of chasing the ball all over the place, bodyslamming, and tripping over our own feet, only to then stand still and remain in defence whenever the ball was at the other end, because 'it would only come back down here anyway'. But it was fun and we all had (and gave) a laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.