Gardening with Van Gogh

A work colleague alerted me to a bliportunity outside the National Gallery. These men are creating a Van Gogh masterpiece with plants. No doubt I shall return to blip the progress in a few days. I hope the plants have plenty of water - it's soooooo dry here. The guinea pigs are most exasperated at the slow growth rate of the gasping grass.

Tonight I went to see Paul Theroux talk about his new book and answer lots of questions about travel in general. He was very interesting and left me with a few things to think about. It turns out that he doesn't carry a camera when he travels, because of several reasons (needs batteries, power, etc). The main reason is that he thinks you aren't looking at the landscape with enough attention if you have a camera. You take a picture to keep and remind you of the scene, but you'd be better looking at it and memorising it in your head. Or something like that. He put it much better and I could see what he means. There have been times (although Fred might disagree!) when I've put down my camera because I knew it couldn't capture the moment with any justice and it would be better just to sit back and look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.