La vida de Annie

By Annie

Birthday treat

Smashing day out at Whiston Fracture Clinic - a mere 2 hours wait to see a different doctor (my allotted one was off sick), who looked at the x-rays from Cumberland Infirmary and concluded "this is a very bad injury". No shit. He ordered more x-rays to determine the state of play, which meant removing the metal and plaster back brace - no easy feat as the plaster had soaked up so much blood it was virtually welded to the skin. 4 medics had a go before taking some fearsome pliers to the thing. The leg, last seen 3 weeks ago, now resembles a giant chorizo, swollen, bruised and discoloured, and looking like the aftermath of an attack by staple gun. Two rows of staples, one by the break just under the knee, another by the second and worse diagonal break going into the ankle, plus assorted odd staples in random places just for good measure were painstakingly removed. The new x-ray was deemed satisfactory - I wanted to blip it but the doc was a bit of a prick patronising individual and it was clear he'd not like it, so I just took pics of the big unveiling instead. My kids wouldn't let me put the ones of the staples on, so any gore fetishists can get their kicks here instead. Now I have an obscene-looking naked leg with just a little dressing over the scars, and instructions to not put weight on it on any account, review to be in 6 weeks. The pain is now intense. Oh, and did I mention it's my birthday? :-(


Love hurts, love scars, love wounds and marks
Any heart not tough or strong enough
To take a lot of pain, take a lot of pain
Love is like a cloud holds a lot of rain.
Love hurts. Oooh,love hurts

I'm young I know, but even so
I know a thing or two. I've learned from you.
I've really learned a lot, really learned a lot.
Love is like a flame, it burns you when it's hot.
Love hurts. Oooh, love hurts

Some fools think of happiness,
Blissfulness, togetherness
Some fools fool themselves, I guess,
But they're not fooling me.

I know it isn't true, I know it isn't true.
Love is just a lie, made to make you blue.
Love hurts. Oooh, love hurts.
Oooh, love hurts.
Oooh, love hurts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.