No Static

By nostatic

Factory

I know this isn't a factory, it's a power station. Think of it as a factory that creates energy (actually it's transforms energy, if we're really splitting hairs). I'm on one of my familiar Edinburgh - London and back again trips today and it's all I've got.

I'm not sure that I need to explain how important Factory records is in the history of music. The iconic record sleeves, the FAC catalogue numbers, the Hacienda, Tony Wilson's unparallelled (and much copied) PR skills and of course some incredible music. Their influence looms large over the music scene, so large in fact that it's hard for any modern Manchester band to escape from the shadow which still hangs over any musical output that comes from the city. If you're a fan of music from the Factory era and gloomy shots of Manchester, I compel you to buy this excellent book. I'm of the age where the Happy Mondays were my entry point into Factory and what an entry point it was.

* no music link today, train wifi blocks youtube. Just whistle the tune to 'Step On' and do that funny Bez dance (or hum 'Transmission' and do the funny Ian Curtis one if you prefer)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.