Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Dream A Little Dream For Me

This is, in Ojibwe (Chippewa) culture, a dreamcatcher (bawaajige nagwaagan meaning "dream snare"). The Ojibwa believe that a dreamcatcher changes a person's dreams. Only good dreams would be allowed to filter through . . . Bad dreams would stay in the net, disappearing with the light of day. Good dreams would pass through and slide down the feathers to the sleeper.

Dreamcatchers are handmade objects based on a willow hoop, on which is woven a loose net or web. It is then decorated with personal and sacred items such as feathers and beads.

This is one of two dreamcatchers I have hanging over the posts of my bed. I take no chances with my dreams.

Update: I'm still sick and pretty much housebound. I did manage to get to the pharmacy but couldn't handle much more. It's 96F today and expected to get near 100F for the next few days, so keeping cool and hydrated will be a priority.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.