Lali's World

By Lali

The Royal Mile 9 - The Tron Kirk

A well known landmark in the Royal Mile, the Tron Kirk was built in the 17th century during the "Bishops' War". It was started in 1636 and completed in 1647. The original wooden spire was replaced in 1829 after it was destroyed by a fire, but the original hammerbeam roofing can still be seen inside. The Tron got its name due to the weighing scales which were housed here well into the 18th century. It was closed as a church in 1952 and it served briefly as a tourist information centre. It has been unused since 2008.

In 1777 it was estimated that in Edinburgh there were eight licensed stills in operation and 400 illicit ones! One of them was allegedly in the cellars of the Tron.

Long day today. Finished work late. The shower seems to be back in working order and my computer seems to be up and running again. Well, SEEMS!!! I'll keep my fingers crossed! I want a holiday from problems, please!!!!

The weather has been again all over the place in Edinburgh, but I haven't been able to enjoy it since I've been indoors working all day!

Hoping that everything's good tomorrow. I'm having another late finish.

Thanks very much for all your comments! I hope you all had a nice day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.