Lali's World

By Lali

The Royal Mile 8 - The World's End

This pub is a bit of an institution in Edinburgh. A must see and visit! Although there's a letter missing and the name reads "The Word's End", It's actually "The World's end". It's a small pub with a good selection of ales that claims to serve the biggest and best fish and chips in Edinburgh!

You may want to know where this name comes from. The story goes that at the battle of Flodden in 1513, King James IV and most of the Scottish nobility of the day were killed by the English. After this, the citizens of Edinburgh decided to build a wall around it to protect the city, the Flodden Wall. Its course ran along the west side of St Mary's Street, underneath were the World's End is now built (the pub actually reuses the foundations of the wall). This wall proved pretty useless when Henry VIII's forces invaded in 1544, but it marked clearly the outer limit of what was considered to be Edinburgh at the time. Therefore this was the point where the world ended and Edinburgh began!

A bit of a strange day today.

Did I say at any point that life was going back to "normal"? That the shower saga had finished? Did I ever said that? Then ignore it! I say no more...

I started my day today with the neighbour downstairs banging at my door and yelling at me, because there was water dropping from his ceiling. I said I would phone the landlord, but he would not have any of it. He wanted me to call a plumber immediately! He even put the foot on the door to prevent me from closing it!!!! I called the landlord, obviously!

My day didn't get much better. I'm glad it's finished.

Hoping for a better day tomorrow.

Thanks very much for all your nice comments on my debut picture. I hope you all had a good day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.