While on my runs

By waipushrink

Too wet for the bus

No choice today but to have my run in the rain and the dark. Had I not gone out this morning, the same conditions only worse would have applied this evening.

This little store on Richmond Road is a modern version of the "traditional" corner dairy. Throughout the older parts of Auckland, a house situated on a street corner, would have either a part of the house, or an addition to the front of the house, turned into a dairy. The owners would (usually) live in the house. A dairy was/is a store where people could buy milk and bread and other simple staples, and also most other things they might run out of including of course cigarettes, sweets and fizzy drinks.

There is a bus stop outside the shop. As I approached I noticed a slightly bedraggled looking person waiting for the bus; the verandah was giving little protection from the rain because of the gusty strong wind. Suddenly, there was frantic waving, and this taxi pulled up, the erstwhile bus passenger (wet and cold) became a taxi passenger (warm and not getting any wetter).

I carried on and got totally soaked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.