While on my runs

By waipushrink

Early morning laundry

Today I had a full day meeting in Wellington, with flight leaving at 8 am. Although relatively civilised (sometimes I have to leave an hour earlier) it still meant heading out for my run at about 5:30 am. In the dark. No fog at least.

As I started along K Road I went past an interesting art gallery which has a very stark display visible through the big glass windows. Wasn't taken with the picture I got. A few doors along is this laundromat. NOT 24 hours; the only 24 hour laundromat is in Grey Lynn right by this mural.

So this customer has come in early. By the number of bags she has around her, I guess that she is one of Auckland's homeless, although the bags may just indicate how she brought in her washing. One of the washing machines was going, and my presumption is she was waiting for it to finish.

She appeared to be asleep, although she did move a little while I was outside debating whether or not to take this picture. She is not identifiable so I am happy to have just taken this shot and gone on my way. I yielded to temptation.

Chairing today's meeting has tired me out, and I was not home until well after 7pm so I may do little commenting tonight. I feel the need to emulate my subject in this photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.