Capital adventures

By marchmont

Temptation

Edinburgh in May - freezing, wet, windy and dreich. F, in Balignac, tells me 44 departements in France are on water restrictions; sis in the Ardeche tells me it's 35 deg and the pool is 27 deg. Here it's 14, if we're lucky. So my temptation is a flying off to somewhere hot and sunny. Why don't I just go to La G, my half house in France? Because it's only 7 sleeps(+ 1 on the plane) till KL - whoopee! (the woman in Thomson tours, the Gyle, came rushing out after she saw me taking these pics - she probably thought I was a rival's rep!)

My other temptation today - an Apple i phone 4 or an HTC Desire in the Carphone warehouse sale (I DESIRE you!).

Downside - going to the Gyle and not enjoying the shopping experience and then leaving my M&S bag (2 t-shirts, 2 prs shorts, 2 waist slips) on a #18 bus - hopefully they will turn up at Lothian Buses lost property tomorrow). This is me really reprising my life. Not only am I back living (forced to live) in Edinburgh after 36 years away, living round the corner from my old school I am still repeating my early life. How many school cardigans did I leave on the #10 bus???!! You'd think I'd get better as I got older/really old.

Edit - Lothian Buses have my bag - hurray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.