This year's spots...

...are light blue. These snail squadron members are modelling the latest colours. The snail in the foreground is also modelling last year's electric blue.

Today I saw the first rain in London for who knows how long - a very long time. In the office, the dark clouds rolled in to the point where blinds were lifted, work was stopped and people gazed out of the windows in shock. Rain? Really? Then it tipped it down with many flashes and angry roars. There was a quick, sunny interlude around 5.30 and most people legged it to various trains, buses, tubes before the drenching time came again.

Upon arriving at home, I went into the garden to say "Good evening" to Mr Kipling and the ladies (Omar having gone to bed as soon as the rain began) and was extremely grateful for this season's light-blue spots, which I'd applied to many snails in the last few months. The lawn and path were covered in brightly coloured shells sliming their way to tasty morsels. They were crowded thickly around the Eglu containing the guinea-pig trio tucked up in hay. However, they cannot get in without a great deal of bravery. I've placed a copper strip (just visible to the top of the blip image) around all the places where the snails can get in. The snail's slippery foot does not like copper at all. I was pleased to say that even though there was an army of snails slipping and sticking to the exterior, there were none indoors. Then I noticed that Whisky had accompanied me into the garden and was perched atop of the two snails in the blip. Poor things. It surely can't be comfortable to sit on snails. Only a cat could do so and not mind or hurt the molluscs, who are temporarily more furry afterwards with the odd stray hair.

Tonight I finished watching Pete vs Life. I discovered this series for the first time at the weekend and I haven't laughed so much at a comedy in a long time. The football commentary idea is genius. I think the very first episode is the funniest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.