Botox

Got thirty Botox injections for migraine prevention this morning (15 with each needle). I am vaguely hoping to wake up tomorrow looking like Angelina Jolie. But maybe I should be happy just to wake up.

Here are a couple of excerpts from the cheery little pamphlet I was given, after which I had to sign a document saying I had been informed:

"Postmarketing reports indicate that the effects of Botox and all botulinum toxin products may spread from the area of injection to produce symptoms consistent with botulinum toxin effects. These may include asthenia, generalized muscle weakness, diplopia, blurred vision, ptosis, dysphagia, dysphonia, dysarthria, urinary incontinence, and breathing difficulties. These symptoms have been reported hours to weeks after injection...."

There's also this brightness: "There have been spontaneous reports of death...and adverse events involving the cardiovascular system." This makes me laugh.

Years ago I had a dear friend who started Antabuse treatment for his alcoholism, and he made a poem of the warning, which included the line: "Drinking alcohol while taking this medication may cause adverse events, including death." We laughed for days. And he didn't drink alcohol while taking Antabuse. The last I heard, he was still sober.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.