Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Temptation

When I was young and sophisticated, I promised myself that if I were ever a grandmother, I would maintain my dignity. I would be like Ingrid Bergman or Lauren Bacall. I would restrain myself and never make bug-eyes or silly noises at a grandchild in a public place. But here I am in the produce aisle, yielding to the temptation to coo and cavort like the fool I am, in hopes of making Bella smile.

Thanks for your many encouraging comments yesterday. So far, so good. I didn't wake up looking like Angelina Jolie, nor even Ingrid Bergman or Lauren Bacall, but I didn't get any of the adverse Botox side effects I was warned about. No migraine today, so that's encouraging.

I went shopping with my granddaughter and her parents, and between making googly-eyes and ridiculous noises at her, I selected a few avocadoes and some divinely fragrant strawberries to take along for the trip tomorrow to a town where, according to the desk clerk, there is no restaurant and no grocery store for about a hundred miles. Just a gas station and a couple of small motels for people in search of the Painted Hills. I'm charging my camera batteries and trembling with anticipation. Look for a landscape Blip tomorrow. This one is my attempt to meet the challenge: temptation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.