Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The Painted Hills, Oregon

I'm here. The internet service works. I've taken over 500 pictures with my one little 35mm lens and the pocket camera, and I'm not sure this is the best possible choice. I have some more artful ones, some less postcardy ones, some that emphasize contours and textures, some that include people and cars, for scale...but this one gives a sense of the sweep and majesty, the amazing color, the gloomy sky contrasted with the flashy earth. Later, when I have time at home, I'll make a Blipfolio. But for now, this.

It rained. It hailed. The mists came in and went out. But I'm here, in a funky little hotel with linoleum floors and knotty pine walls, and I have been walking around for the past four hours, breathless with wonder.

Edit: This is how it really looked. I did not increase saturation, though I did slightly adjust black and white balance, and I added "definition" with iPhoto. I went back to the hills after I had posted the first picture, and the setting sun broke through the clouds and shone right on this stretch of hills. It was an amazing moment, and I shot LOTS of pictures and replaced the original with this one, from the sunset hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.