just allan

By allan

The Right Viewpoint

My favourite feature of the Scottish Parliament area is these ingenious bike racks, which are probably the most useful public art I've seen. Lining up the posts like this you see the bike - from any other angle they're just a load of strange shapes. And perhaps that's what today was about - finding the right perspective on things.

Today: Blipmeet! Thanks everyone, especially Dotty :)

Here's a few more from today.

It was late when I got home, so here's a little more about Friday as viewed from a blustery Saturday morning.

A working day in Edinburgh, after rather heart-warmingly setting Duncan (P6) off in charge of our Gordon and Marie's Ewan (P1) for the last stretch to school. That was a bit of a sketchy parenting decision, but sensible Marie thought it was OK too and Duncan took the responsibility very seriously, so... Well done boys!

Anyway, I made the train. In work, sorted out some firewall stuff with clever people (the ultimate boxes-and-arrows meeting I think - it really does depend on how you look at that one!) and discussed voluntary work with colleagues. I'm changing what I've done in that space as the organisations I've been involved with have changed completely from what they were. I still want to contribute, but I need a more positive, can-do and less cautious atmosphere. The recent work I've done with the Uprising crew has been a fantastic experience so that's my focus for now. Once again then, finding the right perspective.

I realised I could just make "La Quattro Volte" at the Filmhouse, so I shot off there on the bike and made it. I can't recommend it really. Nothing..... happens. At all. It's set in a Calabrian village and follows a goatherd (who dies), the goats (which have kids), and some men who make charcoal (which is slightly interesting). A very arthouse film which disappointed me. I had thought it was going to be an Italian "Sleep Furiously" which looks great, but it's definitely not. Definitely gave me a viewpoint of Italian village life, but not the one I'd hoped for.

After that I cycled around Edinburgh until Bliptime, finding various viewpoints. Down at the Parliament I realised I'd not shared these bike racks so I lay on the ground (told you Sam!) and got the right angle.

Then off to Spoon for the get-together which was lovely. Chit-chit-chat. Wine and lentil curry. With just the right amout of time to spare, I set off down North Bridge to the station thinking I'd go down the Scotsman steps to the back door of Waverley station - only to find that they're closed! I swore out loud a lot, then had to choose to run back up & down Cockburn Street or down to Princes Street and round to Waverley Bridge - because 2 of the 4 Waverley entrances are closed as well! Grr. I went for Princes Street and made the last train. Phew.

Home for some ham-fisted photo editing which I've improved this morning, and watching Alberto Contador further stamp his authority on the Giro d'Italia.

And Saturday (today as I write this)? No children, so gardening supposedly. We'll see if that happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.