just allan

By allan

Silver Lining

Belhaven from the beach, with a rainbow blowing to the east. The wind was strong again today and I took loads of pictures of birds and the sea, but this is my pick of the day.
Here's the others.

I spent the morning cleaning and tidying, reading and writing, listening and playing (Boy With a Coin on the Guitalele. Kinda worked.) Then out for a long walk.

The title comes from the rainbow. "You can't make an omelette without breaking a few eggs," true enough. And I'll add, "you can't have a rainbow without getting a bit wet". I walked across the beach in the rain, the westerly wind lashing the sand against me and the birds fighting against the gale. I was reminded of a colleague who seems to set physical comfort above all - she would have hated the experience. "That's why they invented hotels," she told me yesterday as I described a camping adventure.

Well, 5 minutes later when the rain had blown over it presented this rainbow back to me as a Silver Lining to that particular cloud. You can keep your hotels.

I'm still buoyed-up by the folks I met in Edinburgh last night, so this one's for you lovely blip-sters. Thanks folks, it means a lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.