Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Old Coaching Inn

Back now, from a week of living it up (or was that living fairly quietly) in a cottage overlooking the sea in Northumberland. Here we are at my dads favourite eating place on the journey, The Swan Hotel at Aberford. In the days of travel by coach and horses Aberford was an important stopping point on the Great North Road (now the A1).

We had a very good and uneventful drive home, stopping off at the Gateshead Metro for coffee and toasted tea-cake on the way south.

At this point I ought to pause and think about those who are heading North - they may still be in the queue!

We've had no internet in the cottage nor a mobile internet signal so I've been rather deprived of my blipping fix for a week. I have, however, been writing my journal each day, so back blips to follow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.