dark|adapted

By dark

Stupid Reporter Tricks



I used to work in TV News, so I know how it works, but I still think the media here have been a bit overzealous in making this tornado out to be the worst disaster since Katrina, when in fact it's nowhere near that.

Truth is, it could've been much worse. Unbelievably, no one was hurt, and aside from some trees and light poles, most of the damage is limited to broken windows (an apartment complex east of downtown and a neighborhood to the west being huge exceptions).

I'm actually amazed at how quickly the windows have all been boarded up. Although there's glass everywhere (and it will be for a while, I think), this was not the monster that some have tried to make it out to be - certainly no cause for surrender.

Life goes on.

Strangely, I do find, in the aftermath, that everyone is much more friendly. I've had more strangers strike up a conversation with me in the last couple of days (without asking for money) than I've seen around here in probably the last two years. I guess that's normal when you go through something like this - it'll fade soon enough, I'm sure.


Speaking of friendly, thanks to all of you guys for your comments and concerns the last couple of days! What a wonderful little world we've created here on blip.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.