michigan man

By outdoorguy

Finch-er-ama

" When you make my green jacket...my left arm is just a little longer than my right."
Shooter McGavin...in Happy Gilmore, a "golfing" movie, 1996

When the weather is nasty,
And you're in a blip pinch.
Fire up the camera,
and shoot-shoot a finch.
A bad poet, May 2011

Today...on my wifes side of the family, we had a cookout. The rain held off and let us have an inside table and an outside table. The outside bunch was doing their yakkety-yak thing, and were keeping the birds away from the 3 feeders. When they all came in after dinner to finish watching the baseball game...this pretty little finch made an appearance.

She kept dipping her left "shoulder", and was intent on showing me her right side profile. I thought her left side profile was just peachy. I even got a few shots that were "head-on" that reminded me of the "Mad Bluebird" without the scowl.

I don't get them at my house, probably because I don't put out any "Thithle Theed." Maybe I should...they are beautiful birds. I love the green in the background. Out-of-focus grass.

As I finish this up on a Sunday evening...they are just calling off the tornado warnings for our area. We're thankful for that. It has been a terrible season across the heartland of the United States for some killer twisters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.