Orphan

I had a lot of happy, cheery, feel good shots today. A bunny set against some purple wildflowers...bumble bees on flowers...a new black butterfly...and some acrobatic goslings. 4 of those shots I put on my flickr page. You'll never know how hard it was to keep the picture of the 2 goslings...both showing tongue...off the Blip post.

But...sometimes...you have to show the sadness instead of the joy.

The 3 orphan ducks that I mentioned last week are now down to 2. The other duck is behind the poser. I hate to think that I can "read" the face of the duckling. The Mentalist...I am not.

But...I think that he/she looks sad...isolated...abandoned. As I was watching, a full-sized male duck made a move on the 2, forcing them to scurry away...chattering all the way.

Again...being presumptuous...the cries said to me..."Where is my mom? Where is my dad? Why do we have to do this on our own?"

Sad to watch, but I'm proud of the 2 for sticking together, and doing the best they can do. I wish I could be more of a pond enforcer.

Put it in LARGE, and tell me if you agree. A sad face...just a sad face. I wanted to call the duck Little Orphan Annie, but Annie overcame the odds with perseverance and determination , and I hope these 2 can, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.