Found at the side of the trail

In the park this morning, a couple walking just ahead of me on the trail, asked, "Did you see this?" I hadn't, but thanks to them, I did. What a special experience. This little one is probably no more than a few hours old, but the mother was nowhere in sight. After the doe gives birth, she leaves the immediate area so that her scent doesn't attract attention to the fawn. She will be back to check on it and, if necessary, prod it up on wobbly legs and move it to a new location. I hope that happens because this little one was only a few steps off the trail.

Another treat today was running into a bird watching friend who showed me where Mama and Papa Grosbeak have built their nest. That's where I got this picture of the male rose breasted grosbeak.

I backblipped the stormy sky on Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.