Appreciation

By Appreciation

For Sheila

I couldn't resist adding this. Whenever she got tiddly, which wasn't often in later life, Sheila would sing this song, constantly circling her pointing finger skywards and back down. She was never tuneful, but how I would love to hear it one more time.

Sheila loved all sports, football and cricket especially. I expect that it was no coincidence that I was drawn to cricket yesterday. As a big sister she would bully my Dad something rotten and batter him if he clyped (told on her). She could play sport better than any boy and was often banned from the cricket games because they could never get her out. I know Dad misses her, even in his confused state, his behaviour at this time suggests that he knows there is something upsetting him.

Today was not a good day for him, although he had been up, walking and using stairs which is something he hasn't done for over 5 weeks.

Sheila knew how to treat herself. If she wanted it, and had the money then she would have it. Simple as that. During the time that she was less able to get out and about on her own she enjoyed having flowers on the table to look at, it was a piece of outside, inside for her.

She had a lucky streak beyond belief. If ever there was someone destined to be our lucky lottery winner it was her. She was always handing out money and giving gifts for no reason. The time she spent on the people she loved was a gift in itself.

She loved my poppies in the garden but they are too fragile and delicate to cut and bring indoors. This one had been damaged by the winds yesterday and was in danger of not managing to open. I decided to give it a bit of a helping hand, and I could hear her sing as I did. Those magnificent men in their flying machines, they go up to the up up, they go down to the down down....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.